15

Seven minutes of me talking about the eclipse.

15
Transcript

No transcript...

It’s my birthday. My gift to myself is to indulge my inclination to share with you my reflections on having seen an absolutely gorgeous total eclipse in Northern New Hampshire on Monday.

It is impossible to describe just exactly what totality looked like. Even the best pictures and videos do not capture it, both in the literal sense of what it really looked like and the visceral sense of what it felt like to see it. The difference between 99% and 100% goes way beyond anything about the magnitude of it. They are completely different phenomena. A 99% eclipse is one thing, and a cool one. Totality is a completely different event, and a transformative experience. I get it. It didn’t disappoint. It exceeded everything I’d hoped it might be.

So, if you want to hear me rambling enthusiastically about the beauty of a total solar eclipse for seven minutes, click above!

I do hope some of you were able to see totality as well. If you did, please feel free to share your thoughts and experiences. I’ll open up the Comments section to everyone on this one!

Okay, that’s it! I’ll be back later in the week with normal Inside Medicine dispatches.

And, hey, I’ll use this little occasion to remind you that if you want to support all of this (the medicine stuff, that is, as opposed to this admittedly unusual "I love solar physics” post!) please do click the little button below. Writing this newsletter is a ton of work, I absolutely love doing it, and the community of supportive readers makes it possible. You get it; Those of you who choose to upgrade are making a huge difference in my ability to keep publishing this newsletter several times per week, and I’m so appreciative of that opportunity. Thank you all so much!

Upgrade and support Inside Medicine!

Your local eclipse convert,

Jeremy

15 Comments
Inside Medicine
Inside Medicine Podcast
Merging what I'm seeing in the ER with rigorous deep-dives on the very latest medical and public health data. I want you to know what really matters.